RSS Feed

New Year’s Day – Week 1: The “To-do List”

It is New Year’s Day and all over the world people are resolving to begin this year afresh; to finally lose those last few pounds, quit smoking, exercise more, get angry less, learn a foreign language. . .  Well, here’s mine.  I am resolving, this year, to GET ORGANIZED.  The thing about resolutions is that they tend to get broken, usually around  January 31st, or more often in my case, January 3rd.  As a woman, I count it a privilege and take seriously my position as “home manager”.  I set the tone, keep things running, keep us healthy, and in general, organize our lives.  This blog is my way to ensure my resolution doesn’t lack execution.  So, here’s the plan.  There are 52 weeks in a year.  Each week I will tackle one aspect of organizing my home, and my personal and family life.  By nature, I am an easy-going person, yet I have my areas of OCD (Obsessive-Compulsive Disorder).  My goal is to have fun getting organized taking it in manageable, weekly chunks, while not being so obsessed with keeping “everything in it’s place” that my family no longer feels at home.

In her book A Woman After God’s Own Heart Elizabeth George states:

“All God asks of you and me is to handle and manage today, only today. Jesus said, ‘Do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry about its own things.  Sufficient for the day is its own trouble’ . . . Each day is important in and of itself:

  • What you are today is what you are becoming.
  • You are today what you have been becoming.
  • Every day is a little life, and our whole life is but a day repeated.”

So my question is what are you becoming?  What do you want to become?  Does it line up?  When I think of what, or rather who I want to become, I have a vision of a woman who has herself together: her closets organized, her home comfortable and clean, her children eating healthy home-made meals and developing character through regular house-hold chores, her budget maintained, her husband happy to come home to her, her body regularly exercised, and a growing spiritual life.  Wew!  Kind of makes you tired  just reading all that, doesn’t it?  Although I may never become this perfect woman, it is guaranteed I will not become her if I am not taking daily steps toward this goal.  “What you are today is what you are becoming.”  If I think in those terms, what I am becoming falls far short of what I want to become. This blog will be my journey to BECOME.  I hope some of you will join me and BECOME with me, or simply follow my journey and join in when it applies.

Here’s this week’s challenge:  Begin operating using a “To-do List”.  I have never operated this way.  But every efficient and organized person I have met, does. My “to-do list” is in my head, and inevitably, something always gets forgotten.  So this week, before I go to bed, I will be making a to-do list of what I want to accomplish tomorrow.  In the morning, I will check it over and add or delete as necessary.  Then, most importantly, start crossing things off (no cheating — we actually have to accomplish them before we cross them off)!

I’m adding a few 10-minute challenges for the week.  You know those moments when you finish something, then look around and think “Huh?  What do I do now?”  Then spend 10 minutes trying to figure it out? (Maybe that’s just me) Here are a few 10-minute tasks I plan to have ready when I have one of these moments:

  • Dust one room (I hate dusting, but it needs to be done, and maybe in small doses I can handle it)
  • Go through spices and discard old or expired ones (add to grocery list to replace)
  • Clean off my nightstand
  • Go through and get rid of hair things I don’t use (are scrunchies back?)
  • Play with my kids (if this takes longer than 10 minutes, it’s okay)

Good luck with yours!  Stay tuned to see how things go with mine!

About easygoingorganizer

I am wife to the world's nicest man, mother to four lively/intelligent/beautiful children, daughter to two incredible parents, sister to four amazing siblings, aunt to nine fun-loving nephews and two sweet nieces, friend, teacher turned homeschooler, runner and aspiring organizing maven. Most importantly, I am a woman of faith and unapologetically blend my faith and my God into all that I do because it is ". . . in Him we live and move and exist . . ." (Acts 17:28).

20 responses »

  1. I cleaned my spice cabinet today! The only bad thing is some of the spices have a code rather than an expiration date. I need to put on my to do list to look up the codes. I used to have to do this when I worked retail – ugh!

    Reply
  2. Cracking up about the spices! You mean you aren’t going to wait 20 years like Mom did before tossing out the old? 😉
    Good luck Jaynell. Sounds like a great plan. Eager to see how your journey goes.

    BTW – not to be annoying, but those little white dots that fall on your page made my eyes wig out! I thought I was having an eye issue until I finally realized they were supposed to be falling. For me, it made it hard to read. I must be super sensitive! 🙂

    Reply
    • Sorry, Annette! I clicked “yes” to make it “snow” until January 4. A seasonal thing. I thought it was cute, but I see your point. 🙂 Thanks for the input. As for the spices, no I’m not going to wait 20 years, but some of them are probably 13 years old (since Paul and I got married), which is nearly as bad.

      Reply
  3. Laurinda Blanco

    I really like your 10 minute challenges. Mine are: 1. toss out shoes that I haven’t worn in a year. (Okay this may take longer) 2. toss out my old make-up. 3. dust my bookshelves. 4. Clean my desk off.

    Reply
  4. I liked the snow. Ten minute challenges are an interesting plan. I wonder if I can stick to about 10 minutes or if I will end up going down the rabbit hole.

    Reply
    • Kathryn! Good to hear from you! I like 10 minutes, because I know I can handle it. Like the dusting thing. I loathe dusting, but I might just be able to do it for 10 minutes. 🙂 Are you home? We’ve missed you!

      Reply
  5. This is wonderful, Jaynell!! The first thing that came to my mind was how in the world you have had time to create and write such a wonderful blog in addition to everything else that you do. I guess it is because you are so organized? LOL In addition to simply enjoying your blog, I admire your obvious creative use of time!!

    Reply
  6. BTW, Love the name of your blog!!

    Reply
  7. I’m a big fan of the To-Do list. I almost always have one and I regularly check things off. I don’t always accomplish things as quickly as I would like, but I do like the feeling when I check something off. But, I have noticed over the years that sometimes something will sit on a To-Do list for a number of weeks. Then I often ask myself, “Is this just wishful thinking or unnecessary?” Sometimes, I eliminate things from the To-Do list, because I realize that it just isn’t that important any more. I wish you all the best and I think this will be successful, because at the top of your To-Do list is a desire to put God first.

    Reply
  8. I have just started reading the same book! Looking forward to keeping up with your blog. It just might help keep me on track with my resolution! Happy Blogging!

    Reply
  9. What!?! Spices expire! J/K. You did inspire me to think about parting with my ugly rooster spice rack that we got as a wedding gift that still has spices that are 9 years old!

    Reply
    • I didn’t really think about it until Annette announced some of Mom’s were 20 years old. Then I noticed my paprika was a little off-colored and didn’t smell paprika-y anymore. 🙂 Laminated list is a good idea, but yeah, I probably couldn’t do that. I have to be able to have some wiggle room in my day.

      Reply
  10. Pingback: Another Week, Another Goal | Easy-Going Organizer

  11. Great Jaynell – – organizing is a fun process and still continues through seasons of life. I have always stated . . . don’t ‘spread out’ after your children launch . . . because they return and multiply . . . love that part!!! Sometimes there exists a little disconnect between good intentions and completed tasks . . . another plan, rules, calendar or project needs to be grounded in an ‘organized heart’ . . . that’s what you have Sweet Jaynell . . . I will be praying for your challenges and the blessed time of ‘wiggle-room’ with those precious ones . . . that remains the correct priority in your plan . . .

    Reply

Leave a Reply

