RSS Feed

Pajama Night(-mare)

I walked down the hallway, rounded the corner, and froze in the church foyer.  I was in the middle of that dream where you show up at work/school/church with your pajamas on . . . only it was really happening.  There I was at church wearing not just any pair of pajamas, but my most obnoxious, pink, fuzzy, footy pajamas in a sea of people wearing jeans.

A few days before I received a little yellow notice in the mail with information for our church’s Wednesday night kid’s club, in which I volunteer.  The previous week had been scheduled as “pajama night”, but due to weather, Wednesday night activities were cancelled.  I picked up the yellow card and quickly scanned it, reading something like, “bla, bla, bla AWANA was cancelled . . . something about pajama night. . . bla, bla, bla.”  Tossing it aside I interpreted this information as “Due to AWANA being cancelled last week, pajama night will be rescheduled for this Wednesday.”   I helped my children don their pajamas, then went to find my own.  I could have chosen my regular night-time apparel — flannel pants and a t-shirt — but I wanted to wear something that my group of kids would really get a kick out of.  So I went to my closet and pulled out this.

Yes, folks, I own a “hoodie-footie”.  I can’t wear it to bed; it’s much too hot.  I certainly would never wear it in public — I look like a big, fluffy, pink bunny minus the ears and tail.  But I wanted to do something special for the kids; something to make them laugh and show them I wasn’t taking this “jammy night” lightly.  So, as I came around that corner and saw everyone wearing their regular attire, I froze in horror. “It’s not pajama night,” someone quickly pointed out.

“Thanks,” I mumbled.  Ok, my panicked thoughts ran, Where can I go? How can I get a change of clothes?  Then I caught a glimpse of a little girl standing miserably in her p.j.s, and remembered my own children behind me in theirs.  I’ve just got to go with this, I realized.  Taking a deep breathe, I laughed with my boys, high-fived the little girl and cheerfully shepherded her off to our room.  I made her night. . . and the few others whose mother’s apparently read like I do. I trooped conspicuously with my group from book time to council time to game time, clad in pink fluff from head to toe.  I certainly got those laughs!  Even though I never quite got over the feeling of wanting to hide (I’m still cringing inside), the sight of me looking utterly ridiculous put those other jammy-clad kids at ease, and that was worth the humiliation. Maybe next time, I’ll read the whole notice!

About easygoingorganizer

I am wife to the world's nicest man, mother to four lively/intelligent/beautiful children, daughter to two incredible parents, sister to four amazing siblings, aunt to nine fun-loving nephews and two sweet nieces, friend, teacher turned homeschooler, runner and aspiring organizing maven. Most importantly, I am a woman of faith and unapologetically blend my faith and my God into all that I do because it is ". . . in Him we live and move and exist . . ." (Acts 17:28).

6 responses »

  1. That is hilarious!!! Loving those pajamas!!!

    Reply
  2. What a great story you and your family will be able to share for years to come! The pic is awesome. 🙂

    Reply
  3. I laughed the first time you told it, the second time I read it, the third time I read it, etc., etc.,

    Reply

Leave a Reply

