RSS Feed

Budget-Week Summary

I consider myself a reasonably bright woman, yet when I look at business-type documents or spreadsheet computer programs, my brain hurts. Consequently, my goal this week was to keep things simple.  As I stated in my previous post, we have a working budget; I just needed to taper a worksheet specifically to our situation.  I had a couple requirements for this: 1) It must be something I can write on; when I’ve used computer programs I don’t feel as if I have the same sort of access or workability as I do with paper, and 2) it has to be simple.  After fiddling around with my Excel-type program for some time, I gave up and went to my safe place on my computer — the word-processing program.  There I created a chart that is very simple and straight-forward. Anyone with a mind for business or with an affinity for their spreadsheets, will probably find it juvenile.  It is also pretty specific to our family, our pay-periods and our expenses. Here is what I came up with (You will have to click to enlarge):

Simple and to the point. I think it will help keep things a bit more organized, but of course I need a month of using it before I can make my judgement.

It wasn’t a terribly exciting week, but my mission is accomplished.  Next week I’ll be working on my kitchen counters (my husband’s excited about this one – my habit of making piles drives him mad 🙂 ).  Until then!

About easygoingorganizer

I am wife to the world's nicest man, mother to four lively/intelligent/beautiful children, daughter to two incredible parents, sister to four amazing siblings, aunt to nine fun-loving nephews and two sweet nieces, friend, teacher turned homeschooler, runner and aspiring organizing maven. Most importantly, I am a woman of faith and unapologetically blend my faith and my God into all that I do because it is ". . . in Him we live and move and exist . . ." (Acts 17:28).

4 responses »

  1. I like to do mine on a piece of paper too, plugging numbers in computer seems like too much work!

    Reply
  2. Good luck!

    Reply
  3. Pingback: Command Center – Part 1 « Easy-Going Organizer

Leave a Reply

