RSS Feed

Week 6: Organizing my Kitchen Counters

This is the story of a sea-shell.  There was nothing extraordinary about this shell.  It existed, as all sand dollars do, on the bottom of a the ocean, burrowed under the sand, avoiding its prey and feeding on tiny organisms.  It was a simple existence, but one that could not last forever.  It passed on, as all living creatures do, and loosing it’s grip on the sandy bottom was swept to shore by the incoming tide.  That morning a vacationing woman was enjoying an early-morning jog on the beach.  She spotted its dollar-shaped skeleton, perfectly in-tact, and excitedly picked it up to take home to her children.  Her children, naturally were thrilled to have such a treasure. They had found their own sand dollars, but none were in such pristine condition as this.  Carefully they washed the sand, laid it out to dry, and added it to their growing pile of coastal finds.  When the vacation came to its end, the woman carefully wrapped each of these treasures (the ones worth keeping) and placed them inside a keepsake bag to transport them safely home.  Once home, the bag was placed on her kitchen counter – on top of her bread box to be exact – until she could find them a permanent home. She had the best intentions of doing “something” with these momentos — the beautiful sand dollar, some sea glass and other miscellaneous shells — but the days turned to weeks, the weeks to months. . .  Soon, she no longer even noticed the bag on top of the bread box, and neither did anyone else in the family.  It had simply become part of the decor.

I’m ashamed to say that the woman in that story was me (as if you hadn’t already guessed).  What’s worse is that our beach vacation was last March!  And it sits there still (along with a jar I need to return to a friend and a few other things for which I have yet to find a place). . .

This week, I’m attacking my kitchen counters (and the top of my bread box). I no longer want it to be the catch-all for things I haven’t yet put away. My goal is to clear, organize and come up with a method that will help me maintain my new look.  I’m even going to find a place for those shells.

About easygoingorganizer

I am wife to the world's nicest man, mother to four lively/intelligent/beautiful children, daughter to two incredible parents, sister to four amazing siblings, aunt to nine fun-loving nephews and two sweet nieces, friend, teacher turned homeschooler, runner and aspiring organizing maven. Most importantly, I am a woman of faith and unapologetically blend my faith and my God into all that I do because it is ". . . in Him we live and move and exist . . ." (Acts 17:28).

11 responses »

  1. So my mom totally has an obsession with sea shells, and she and my dad took a piece of decorative wood (like from Michael’s or hobby lobby) that looked like drift wood and just sorta decorated it, hot gluing the shells to it and used it in landscaping outside. Also, empty Yankee candle jars make great sea-shell-holder-knick-knacks 🙂

    Reply
  2. I do the same thing – once something sits for long enough, I quit seeing it. Every once in a while, I try to look at my house as though I were seeing it for the first time. Depending on what room I’m in I can feel really good about that, or really horrified!

    Reply
  3. Excited to see what you do with your shells, I have some from at least 6 years ago (eek!) that are stowed away waiting for me to do something with them. 🙂

    Reply
  4. Pingback: Next Post « Easy-Going Organizer

  5. Pingback: The Best Cinnamon Rolls Ever! « Easy-Going Organizer

  6. Remember when we would collect glass from the garden in Summerville? I think mom just tossed it 🙂

    Reply
  7. Pingback: Counters (Mostly) Complete — And Organizing a Command Center « Easy-Going Organizer

Leave a Reply

