RSS Feed

Thrifty-tip Thursday – Left-over Oatmeal Muffins

I hate wasting food. I usually save food and we eat left-overs, as most people do. But the other morning when I made too much oatmeal for breakfast, I wasn’t sure what to do. I just couldn’t get myself to throw that much food in the garbage, but who is going to eat left-over oatmeal? Maybe we are food-snobs, but left-over oatmeal is just gross. I decided to see if there was anything appetizing to do with left-over oatmeal, and “Google-d” it. There are a lot of recipes out there using left-over oatmeal!  I modified a muffin recipe from Food.com and it was a hit.

Left-over Oatmeal Muffins

Directions:

1 cup flour (I used wheat)

1 cup packed brown sugar

1 tsp. baking powder

1 tsp. baking soda

1/2 cup melted butter

2 eggs, lightly beaten

1 cup leftover cooked oatmeal

1 cup raisins (optional – I left these out because the kids aren’t big fans)

1 tsp. vanilla

(I added 1 tsp. ground cinnamon)

Directions:

1. In a large bowl, combine flour, brown sugar, baking powder and baking soda.

2. In another bowl, mix together melted butter, eggs, oatmeal, raisins and vanilla.

3. Add to dry ingredients and stir just until moistened – the batter will seem thick.

4. Spoon batter into 12 greased muffin cups (I used un-greased re-usable muffin cups — they worked wonderfully!)

5. Bake at 350 degrees for 18 minutes, or until the muffin centers are slightly firm.

They didn’t look pretty, but they were tasty! And part of being thrifty is not wasting.  This was a great way to get a second breakfast out of our oatmeal.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

About easygoingorganizer

I am wife to the world's nicest man, mother to four lively/intelligent/beautiful children, daughter to two incredible parents, sister to four amazing siblings, aunt to nine fun-loving nephews and two sweet nieces, friend, teacher turned homeschooler, runner and aspiring organizing maven. Most importantly, I am a woman of faith and unapologetically blend my faith and my God into all that I do because it is ". . . in Him we live and move and exist . . ." (Acts 17:28).

6 responses »

  1. Great tip. Have you ever used http://www.epicurious.com? You can type in the ingredients you have and it searches recipes you can make with those ingredients. It’s really helpful when you have a bunch of stuff and you dont know what to put together with it all. Also if you create a profile you can save recipes to your online recipe box.

    Reply
  2. I’ve nominated you for the Sunshine reward! Please drop by and say hi and grab the instructions.

    Reply
  3. Flour Me With Love

    I never would have thought to use left over oatmeal! They look delicious. Thanks so much for sharing at Mix it up Monday 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

