RSS Feed

Thrifty Tip Thursday – Failure!

No name baking soda

No name baking soda (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

When I run, I sweat. When I sweat, I stink. . . there’s no way around it.  Unfortunately, even though I wash my clothes after each run, some have a lingering odor that is just not pleasant. For my thrifty tip, I had intended to find a way to take care of that odor without buying expensive, specialty laundry detergent. After scouring the web, I decided to try a baking soda method. According to one source, soaking your running clothes in a mixture of 1 cup baking soda and water, then washing as usual would amend the problem. Maybe I am sweatier than the average girl, but said method failed. The odor still lingers. I am not giving up yet . . . I will find a thrifty way to take care of this! I currently have my running clothes soaking in a mixture of 1 cup white vinegar and water.  I’ll let you know tomorrow how that turns out. Any other ideas?

About easygoingorganizer

I am wife to the world's nicest man, mother to four lively/intelligent/beautiful children, daughter to two incredible parents, sister to four amazing siblings, aunt to nine fun-loving nephews and two sweet nieces, friend, teacher turned homeschooler, runner and aspiring organizing maven. Most importantly, I am a woman of faith and unapologetically blend my faith and my God into all that I do because it is ". . . in Him we live and move and exist . . ." (Acts 17:28).

4 responses »

  1. Cat litter eliminates odors… I wonder if you could sprinkle some cat litter into your laundry basket. 🙂

    Reply
  2. Borax and/or washing soda are my odor eliminating friends!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

