RSS Feed

Thrifty Tip Thursday (on Friday) – Part 2

The vinegar seemed to work. If you read my last post, you know that I am trying to remove the stench from my running clothes. The moisture-wicking fabric seems to really lock it in. Yesterday the baking soda failed and I was soaking them again in vinegar.  I poured 2 cups of white vinegar in my washer with the clothes, allowed the washer to fill and soaked for about 3 hours. Then I ran them through the short cycle to rinse off the vinegar, added laundry detergent and washed again. My running clothes are much better!

About easygoingorganizer

I am wife to the world's nicest man, mother to four lively/intelligent/beautiful children, daughter to two incredible parents, sister to four amazing siblings, aunt to nine fun-loving nephews and two sweet nieces, friend, teacher turned homeschooler, runner and aspiring organizing maven. Most importantly, I am a woman of faith and unapologetically blend my faith and my God into all that I do because it is ". . . in Him we live and move and exist . . ." (Acts 17:28).

6 responses »

  1. Haven’t tried it but I wonder if Borax would work? It is super cheap and has lots of uses beyond laundry. I have some from making dishwasher soap, a couple times.

    Reply
  2. I am glad to hear that the vinegar worked. Vinegar is a great cleaning agent. 😉

    Reply
  3. Vodka. I know it sounds odd, but it works. When I was in college, we would rent the costumes we used for musicals, and they would get quite sweaty and gross. We couldn’t use febreeze or anything that may damage the color or integrity of the costumes, so we had spray bottles filled with vodka (not top shelf, and the director was in charge of them) and we would spray down the costumes after each wear and there was no stench to be smelled.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

