RSS Feed

Cool School Rooms

We are in the process of moving our school room from the upstairs loft area to our downstairs “left-over furniture room”.  That’s our name for the family room (Or is it living room? We have one of those houses with a family room and living room, and I can never remember which is which).  I liked our little loft school room, but everything I do during the day is downstairs — laundry, breakfast/lunch/dinner prep and clean-up — so to make multi-tasking easier, the kids are coming downstairs too.  In addition, there is more space downstairs and the “left-over furniture room” wasn’t much but a place to stash our left-over furniture (hence the name). 🙂  In the spirit of organizing and decorating a homeschool room, I am posting some pictures I am using for inspiration (none of which I will actually come close to, but it’s fun dreaming).

 

I love the framed chalkboard wall here from houzz.com.  I definitely have plans to do something similar, minus the feminine colors (I have 3 boys).

 

Another good use of chalkboard paint from Lady Lullabuy used to label supply cubbies.

 

I love, love, love this wall of maps from Land of Nod.  If I can get ahold of some old maps, I am doing this!

 

Another idea I love for a school room is the cork-board picture rail running through this room from Martha Stewart.

 

I have a staircase wall in the room.  It doesn’t rise quite so sharply, but what a clever use of that space from Design Sponge, with book shelves.

 

Another feature I’d love to include is a cozy little reading corner, similar to this one from Sunshine on the Inside.

 

Lastly, I love the bit of inspiration for teacher and students with this wall verse from Contented Sparrow.  What a lovely way to remember why we do what we do each day.

About easygoingorganizer

I am wife to the world's nicest man, mother to four lively/intelligent/beautiful children, daughter to two incredible parents, sister to four amazing siblings, aunt to nine fun-loving nephews and two sweet nieces, friend, teacher turned homeschooler, runner and aspiring organizing maven. Most importantly, I am a woman of faith and unapologetically blend my faith and my God into all that I do because it is ". . . in Him we live and move and exist . . ." (Acts 17:28).

12 responses »

  1. Ah! Love some of these designs! Thanks for sharing!

    Reply
  2. I wish my school came with that big comfy chair! Or is that the teacher’s chair? I have a few pennies left on a Land of Nod gift card if you want them! 🙂 All very cute ideas!

    Reply
  3. We have this map from IKEA in our master bedroom and I love it — It takes up a whole wall. http://www.ikea.com/us/en/catalog/products/70119430/ I love the bookshelf in the staircase. Can’t wait to see your final product!

    Reply
  4. Thank you so much for reblogging our post, “Spruce Up a Room With a New Rug!” You have a great blog! Continued success!

    Reply
  5. Pingback: My New Chalkboard Wall & A Thrifty Thursday Tip « Easy-Going Organizer

Leave a Reply

