Daily Archives: January 2, 2012

Ta-da!

There it is.  My to-do list. And mostly crossed off.  Riveting, isn’t it?  I have a confession, though.  There is a part of me, the “easy-going”, fly-by-the-seat-of-my-pants part that chafes at the idea of operating off a to-do list.  Which is why I never have used one to this point.  I actually struggled with whether this is how I really wanted to begin.  Yet, as I read and reflected I came to the conclusion that the beginning of organization really begins with managing time, which is the purpose behind the list.  So, here is my “easy-going” compromise with the list:

  • I will not be ruled by the list
  • The list is a tool to help me manage my time; it will not manage me
  • I will follow the list in any order I please
  • I reserve the right to change the list as I see fit
  • I will not “freak out” if I don’t check every item off the list
  • I will occasionally give the list a day off

This morning I began my day with the first item on my to-do list, my quiet time.  My devotion was especially fitting this morning as it was on Mary and Martha.  If you remember the story, Jesus has come to have dinner and Martha is running around making sure every detail is perfect.  Mary, is sitting at Jesus’ feet, listening when Martha comes and asks Jesus why He doesn’t tell Mary to help her.  He says, “But one thing is needed, and Mary has chosen that good part, which will not be taken away from her” (Luke 10:42).  I want to have my household organized, but I want to make sure that in all my labors I choose “that good part, which will not be taken away.”  That is why on today’s list, in addition to household chores, I also had “date with Paul” and “play a game with the kids”.  Investing my time in my family and my spiritual life. . . no clean closet can touch that.