Daily Archives: January 20, 2012

Organizing Toys – Take 2 + Chocolate Chip Cookies!

Week three of organizing and I’m already stumped. It has been a bit of a rough week.  Someone has been sick at our house everyday this week, which has seriously impeded my organizing.  As a result, it wasn’t until today that I approached the toys armed with new storage bins, a garbage bag and a box for donations.  I filled one large garbage bag, filled a box to take to the Goodwill, and attempted to organize things into the storage bins.  I am not pleased with the result. I had a vision of something out of a magazine, and it only looks slightly neater than it did before.  So. . . take 2.  I’ll be sleeping on it tonight and hoping to come up with something brilliant in the morning.

Image by ponsulak

To cheer myself up (and my kids who caught a glimpse of the Goodwill box), I decided we needed some Friday night chocolate chip cookies.  I love chocolate chip cookies and have tried a lot of recipes.  This is the most amazing chocolate chip cookie recipe I’ve tried.  Thought I’d share it with you in case you need it too. 🙂

Yum!

Extraordinary Chocolate Chip Cookies

1 1/2 cup butter

1 1/4 cup granulated sugar

1 1/4 cup packed brown sugar

1 Tblsp vanilla

2 eggs

4 cups all-purpose flour

2 tsp baking soda

1/2 tsp salt

1 bag (24 oz.) chocolate chips (I use milk chocolate to make it especially yummy)

*For nut lover add 2 cups chopped nuts with the chips

Preheat oven to 350. In large bowl beat butter, sugars, vanilla, and eggs on medium.  Stir in flour, baking soda, salt.  Stir in chocolate chips.  On an ungreased cookie sheet drop dough by Tablespoons 2 inches apart.  Flatten slightly.  Bake 11 – 13 min.  Cool 1 -2 minutes.  Remove to cooling racks.

Here’s a helpful tip:  I only make one batch, then roll the rest into balls, place in a rubbermaid container with waxed paper in-between layers, and stick in the freezer.  That way we don’t eat more than we need in one sitting and they are all ready to go the next time we “need” a cookie night.  I also have a quick dessert ready when I’m bringing a meal to someone or have an unexpected guest.